Summahtime Playlist

Well, it’s been a while. Lot’s to catch up on, but mostly (and inspired by Grburbank’s prompt summer list) I wanted to share my summer playlist. There are a lot more lady rockers on here than I’ve previously listened to, but there is so much fantastic lady-music out there right now!

1. “Set Fire to the Rain” by Adele: this lady can sing and I’m hooked on this song. She’s 23. Her voice gives me chills. She writes her own music. She’s phenomenal, as are her old albums.

2. “Paris (Ooh la la)” by Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. Um, swoon? This lady can rock it. I’ll just say it: she’s hawt.

3. “Drumming” by Florence + the Machine. The whole Lungs album is just fantastic. Just like Grace Potter, Florence Welch totally brings it. So many excellent songs: “Blinded” is probably my second favorite. “There’s a drumming noise inside my head / That throws me to the ground / I swear that you should hear it /It makes such an all mighty sound  / Louder than sirens / Louder than bells / Sweeter than heaven / And hotter than hell.” I love the lyrics and I love feeling this way around a man I’m truly attracted to.

4. “Home” by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros. Are you prepared for an uncharacteristically sappy post from me? When I hear this song, I hope that one day I will sillily dance in a sunlit kitchen with my husband to this music. They are so so good in concert (saw them with Mumford & Sons a few months ago). I love this happy happy song.

5. “Down by the Water” by The Decemberists. I don’t normally find singles to be the best songs on an album, but I love this one. The King is Dead is now my favorite Decemberists album. I feel like their sound has really come together and coalesced beautifully. I’m also excited to see them for FREE next week! Thanks, SLC!

6. “25 to Life” by Eminem. (Warning about the explicit lyrics.) I’ve always liked Eminem. Say what you will, but one thing the man does is write honest music. Recovery is by far my favorite album. I really love his examination of the negativity in co-dependent relationships, like in “Love the Way You Lie” with RhiRhi. I specifically like this song because he calls himself out on addictions and wait for it, even though you think he’s talking about a woman, he’s talking about the machine of hip-hop and how it kind of destroyed his life. Smart lyricist, that Marshall Mathers.

7. “Two of the Lucky Ones” by The Droge and Summer Blend. I got this little diddy from the Zombieland soundtrack. Over the past few years, I’ve really developed a love for folk music. Such a good song. “When all the work is done / By the light of the setting sun / We see what we’ve become / Two of the lucky ones.”

8. “Holocene” by Bon Iver. Favorite song off of their new album, but “Blood Bank,” “Re: Stacks,” and “Skinny Love” will always have my heart.

9. “Say” by John Mayer. Not a huge fan of him in real life, but he makes good music. Really good music. I always liked this song, and then I saw a clip of him on Sesame Street, which I have thoughtfully provided for you, and he sang this song to kids who were struggling to cope with military moms and dads coming home with war wounds from Iraq. Melted my icy heart. And I think the message is awesome – how great would life be if people could be honest and say what they felt? And for it to be okay to say what you really want?

10. “Down on Me” by Jeremiah featuring 50 Cent. Is this song terrible? Yes. Yes it is. But a white lady’s got to shake it to something, and for that reason, I love this song.

Honorable mention: Take Care, Take Care, Take Care by Explosions in the Sky (the whole album), “My Body” by Young the Giants, “Clean” by Incubus (okay, not new, but their new album is out soon and it’s my favorite song of theirs), “Paperweight” by Schuyler Fisk and Joshua Radin, “Lay Me Down” by The Dirty Heads featuring Rome, and “Turning Tables” by Adele.

Other things I love about summahtime? Listening to Sublime. Being home in Utah. ATV rides into the mountains and through rivers. Family everyday. Sassafras is back. Clean air. Great friends. Super 8. Awesome concerts. Delicious food. HARRY EFFING POTTER.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grburbank
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 09:49:17

    Summer playlists are the best playlists! Hooray for lady rockers especially ones named Adele and Florence. I’ve never really listened to The Decemberists before, but I really like that song. Sometime when you’re in SLC this summer, we need to hang out–maybe get dinner or catch an awesome film at the Broadway.

    Reply

  2. smlarue
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 10:06:36

    You should go to their free concert next week and then you can decide if you like them AND you can also see me! And I would love to have a night of excellent food and film with you!

    Reply

Leave a comment